MPs retiring at the 2001 general election

The following 79 Members of Parliament, ordered by surname, did not stand for re–election at the 2001 General Election

Paddy Ashdown Yeovil LD
Joe Ashton Bassetlaw L
Tony Benn Chesterfield L
Gerry Bermingham St Helen's South L
Sir Richard Body Boston and Skegness C
Peter Brooke City of London and Westminster C
Dale Campbell-Savours Workington L
Malcolm Chisholm Edinburgh North and Leith L
Judith Church Dagenham L
David Clark South Shields L
Dr Michael Clark Rayleigh C
Eric Clarke Midlothian L
Robin Corbett Birmingham Erdington L
Lawrence Cunliffe Leigh L
Roseanna Cunningham Perth SNP
Ron Davies Caerphilly L
Peter Emery East Devon C
Margaret Ewing Moray SNP
David Faber Westbury C
Ronnie Fearn Southport LD
Sir Norman Fowler Sutton Coldfield C
Maria Fyfe Glasgow Maryhill L
Sam Galbraith Strathkelvin and Bearsden L
Christopher Gill Ludlow C
Dr Norman Godman Greenock and Inverclyde L
Llin Golding Newcastle-under-Lyme L
Teresa Gorman Billericay C
Donald Gorrie Edinburgh West LD
Tommy Graham West Renfrewshire L
Bruce Grocott Telford L
John Gunnell Morley and Rothwell L
Sir Archie Hamilton Epsom and Ewell C
Sir Edward Heath Old Bexley and Sidcup C
Michael Heseltine Henley C
John Home Robertson East Lothian L
George Howarth Knowsley South L
Sir Geoffrey Johnson Smith Wealden C
Barry Jones Alyn and Deeside L
Ieuan Wyn Jones Ynys Mon PC
Jenny Jones Wolverhampton South West L
Tom King Bridgwater C
Tess Kingham Gloucester L
Ken Livingstone Brent East Ind
Richard Livsey Brecon and Radnorshire LD
Sir Peter Lloyd Fareham C
Sir Nicholas Lyell North East Bedfordshire C
John MacGregor South Norfolk C
Robert Maclennan Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross LD
Sir David Madel South West Bedfordshire C
Ken Maginnis Fermanagh and South Tyrone UUP
John Major Huntingdon C
Dr John Marek Wrexham L
John Maxton Glasgow Cathcart L
John McAllion Dundee East L
Henry McLeish Central Fife L
Bill Michie Sheffield Heeley L
Ray Michie Argyll and Bute LD
Alasdair Morgan Galloway and Upper Nithsdale SNP
Rhodri Morgan Cardiff West L
Sir John Morris Aberavon L
Mo Mowlam Redcar L
Tom Pendry Stalybridge and Hyde L
Giles Radice Durham North L
Allan Rogers Rhondda L
Jeffrey Rooker Birmingham Perry Barr L
Andrew Rowe Faversham and Mid Kent C
Edward Rowlands Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney L
Robert Sheldon Ashton under Lyne L
Peter Snape West Bromich East L
John Swinney North Tayside SNP
John D Taylor Strangford UUP
Peter Temple-Morris Leominster L
John Townend Yorkshire East C
James Wallace Orkney and Shetland LD
Charles Wardle Bexhill and Battle C
Bowen Wells Hertford and Stortford C
Andrew Welsh Angus SNP
Sir Raymond Whitney Wycombe C
Dafydd Wigley Caernarfon PC

Back to the top