Labour Party leadership election 2015 results

Following defeat at the 2015 general election Labour leader Ed Miliband resigned, setting in course an election to find a new leader and deputy leader. Party members, union affilates and registered supporters were each given a vote, and the results, given below, were declared on 12th September 2015 at the QEII Conference Centre in London. Jeremy Corbyn was elected leader by a large margin and Tom Watson deputy leader after three rounds of voting. Several pre-election debates between the leadership candidates – Jeremy Corbyn, Andy Burnham, Yvette Cooper and Liz Kendall – were broadcast, and you can view them below.

Table: Labour Party Leadership election results
Results 1st Stage Labour Members Registered Supporters Affiliated Supporters Total % of Vote
BURNHAM, Andy 55,698 6,160 18,604 80,462 19.0%
COOPER, Yvette 54,470 8,415 9,043 71,928 17.0%
CORBYN, Jeremy 121,751 88,449 41,217 251,417 59.5%
KENDALL, Liz 13,601 2,574 2,682 18,857 4.5%
TOTAL 245,520 105,598 71,546 422,664  

Labour leadership debates

Related Information