Current Female Members of Parliament

There are currently 148 female MPs, out of a total 650 members of parliament. These MPs gained their seats at the 2010 general election and at by-elections held since then. The chart below shows parties which have female MPs and compares the number of female and male MPs in each party, with men shown in grey and with their number in parenthesis.

A table showing the number of women MPs and candidates at every general election since 1945 is available. You can also find information about individual MPs.

Chart comparing number of female and male MPs by party.
Labour — 86F  (169M)
Conservative — 48F  (256M)
Lib Dem — 7F  (50M)
Green - 1F (0)
SDLP — 1F   (2M)
Sinn Fein — 1F  (4M)
SNP — 1F (5M)
Alliance — 1F  (0)
Independent — 1F  (1M)

Source: House of Commons Information Office

Table showing current female members of parliament. Click headings to sort
Member Constituency Party Majority
Abbott, Diane Hackney North and Stoke Newington Lab 31.11
Abrahams, Debbie Oldham East and Saddleworth Lab 10.2
Alexander, Heidi Lewisham East Lab 14.90
Ali, Rushanara Bethnal Green and Bow Lab 22.82
Baldwin, Harriett Worcestershire West C 12.49
Beckett, Margaret Derby South Lab 14.86
Begg, Anne Aberdeen South Lab 8.15
Berger, Luciana Liverpool Wavertree Lab/Co-op 18.90
Blackman-Woods, Roberta Durham, City of Lab 6.63
Blackwood, Nicola Oxford West and Abingdon C 0.31
Blears, Hazel Salford and Eccles Lab 13.78
Bradley, Karen Staffordshire Moorlands C 15.27
Bray, Angie Ealing Central and Acton C 7.87
Brooke, Annette Dorset Mid and Poole North LD 0.57
Brown, Lyn West Ham Lab 47.99
Bruce, Fiona Congleton C 13.91
Buck, Karen Westminster North Lab 5.37
Burt, Lorely Solihull LD 0.32
Champion, Sarah Rotherham Lab 24.46
Chapman, Jenny Darlington Lab 7.90
Clark, Katy Ayrshire North and Arran Lab 21.46
Clwyd, Ann Cynon Valley Lab 32.19
Coffey, Ann Stockport Lab 17.34
Coffey, Therese Suffolk Coastal C 16.63
Cooper, Rosie Lancashire West Lab 8.96
Cooper, Yvette Normanton, Pontefract and Castleford Lab 23.74
Creagh, Mary Wakefield Lab 3.63
Creasy, Stella Walthamstow Lab 23.12
Crouch, Tracey Chatham and Aylesford C 13.85
Curran, Margaret Glasgow East Lab 36.81
de Piero, Gloria Ashfield Lab 0.40
Dinenage, Caroline Gosport C 30.71
Dorries, Nadine Bedfordshire Mid C 27.60
Doyle, Gemma Dunbartonshire West Lab 41.19
Doyle-Price, Jackie Thurrock C 0.20
Eagle, Angela Wallasey Lab 20.42
Eagle, Maria Garston and Halewood Lab 39.41
Elliott, Julie Sunderland Central Lab 15.84
Ellison, Jane Battersea C 12.25
Ellman, Louise Liverpool Riverside Lab 36.53
Engel, Natascha Derbyshire North East Lab 5.20
Featherstone, Lynne Hornsey and Wood Green LD 12.49
Flint, Caroline Don Valley Lab 8.28
Fovargue, Yvonne Makerfield Lab 28.53
Fullbrook, Lorraine South Ribble C 10.79
Gildernew, Michelle Fermanagh and South Tyrone SF 0.01
Gillan, Cheryl Chesham and Amersham C 31.86
Gilmore, Sheila Edinburgh East Lab 23.03
Glass, Pat Durham North West Lab 17.37
Glindon, Mary Tyneside North Lab 27.76
Goodman, Helen Bishop Auckland Lab 12.68
Grant, Helen Maidstone and The Weald C 12.04
Green, Kate Stretford and Urmston Lab 19.90
Greening, Justine Putney C 24.65
Greenwood, Lilian Nottingham South Lab 4.34
Griffith, Nia Llanelli Lab 12.55
Harman, Harriet Camberwell and Peckham Lab 36.84
Harris, Rebecca Castle Point C 16.95
Hermon, Sylvia Down North Ind 42.90
Hillier, Meg Hackney South and Shoreditch Lab 33.34
Hilling, Julie Bolton West Lab 0.19
Hodge, Margaret Barking Lab 36.51
Hodgson, Sharon Washington and Sunderland West Lab 30.69
Hoey, Kate Vauxhall Lab 24.66
Jackson, Glenda Hampstead and Kilburn Lab 0.08
James, Margot Stourbridge C 10.93
James, Sian Swansea East Lab 33.17
Jamieson, Cathy Kilmarnock and Loudoun Lab/Co-op 26.59
Johnson, Diana Hull North Lab 1.93
Jones, Helen Warrington North Lab 15.32
Jones, Susan Elan Clwyd South Lab 8.17
Jowell, Tessa Dulwich and West Norwood Lab 19.42
Keeley, Barbara Worsley and Eccles South Lab 10.40
Kendall, Elizabeth Leicester West Lab 11.21
Laing, Eleanor Epping Forest C 32.48
Latham, Pauline Derbyshire Mid C 23.85
Leadsom, Andrea Northamptonshire South C 34.19
Lee, Jessica Erewash C 5.25
Leslie, Charlotte Bristol North West C 6.50
Lewell-Buck, Emma South Shields Lab 26.3
Long, Naomi Belfast East Alliance 4.45
Lucas, Caroline Brighton Pavilion Green 2.42
Lumley, Karen Redditch C 13.22
Macleod, Mary Brentford and Isleworth C 3.64
Mactaggart, Fiona Slough Lab 11.57
Mahmood, Shabana Birmingham Ladywood Lab 28.20
Main, Anne St Albans C 4.36
Malhotra, Seema Feltham and Heston Lab 26.7
May, Theresa Maidenhead C 31.22
McCarthy, Kerry Bristol East Lab 8.27
McDonagh, Siobhain Mitcham and Morden Lab 31.20
McGovern, Alison Wirral South Lab 1.33
McGuire, Anne Stirling Lab 17.85
McInnes, Liz Heywood and Middleton Lab 2.2
McIntosh, Anne Thirsk and Malton C 29.6
McKechin, Ann Glasgow North Lab 13.16
McKinnell, Catherine Newcastle upon Tyne North Lab 7.77
McVey, Esther Wirral West C 6.19
Mensch, Louise Corby C 3.49
Miller, Maria Basingstoke C 26.01
Milton, Anne Guildford C 14.00
Moon, Madeleine Bridgend Lab 5.90
Mordaunt, Penny Portsmouth North C 16.52
Morden, Jessica Newport East Lab 4.79
Morgan, Nicky Loughborough C 7.09
Morris, Anne-Marie Newton Abbot C 1.08
Munn, Meg Sheffield Heeley Lab 14.21
Munt, Tessa Wells LD 1.43
Murray, Sheryll Cornwall South East C 6.49
Nandy, Lisa Wigan Lab 23.76
Nash, Pamela Airdrie and Shotts Lab 34.61
Newton, Sarah Truro and Falmouth C 0.89
Nokes, Caroline Romsey and Southampton North C 8.49
O'Donnell, Fiona East Lothian Lab 24.93
Onwurah, Chi Newcastle upon Tyne Central Lab 21.86
Osborne, Sandra Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock Lab 21.60
Patel, Priti Witham C 32.45
Pearce, Teresa Erith and Thamesmead Lab 13.43
Perry, Claire Devizes C 28.06
Phillipson, Bridget Houghton and Sunderland South Lab 28.91
Powell, Lucy Manchester Central Lab 59.68
Primarolo, Dawn Bristol South Lab 9.79
Qureshi, Yasmin Bolton South East Lab 21.80
Reeves, Rachel Leeds West Lab 18.10
Reynolds, Emma Wolverhampton North East Lab 7.12
Riordan, Linda Halifax Lab 3.38
Ritchie, Margaret Down South SDLP 19.75
Rudd, Amber Hastings and Rye C 4.00
Ruddock, Joan Lewisham Deptford Lab 30.32
Sandys, Laura Thanet South C 16.58
Seabeck, Alison Plymouth Moor View Lab 3.82
Smith, Angela Penistone and Stocksbridge Lab 6.55
Smith, Chloe Norwich North C 9.16
Soubry, Anna Broxtowe C 0.74
Spelman, Caroline Meriden C 31.16
Stuart, Gisela Birmingham Edgbaston Lab 3.06
Swinson, Jo Dunbartonshire East LD 4.55
Teather, Sarah Brent Central LD 2.97
Thornberry, Emily Islington South and Finsbury Lab 8.19
Truss, Elizabeth Norfolk South West C 26.73
Vaz, Valerie Walsall South Lab 4.29
Villiers, Theresa Chipping Barnet C 23.57
Walley, Joan Stoke-on-Trent North Lab 20.49
Watkinson, Angela Hornchurch and Upminster C 30.66
Wheeler, Heather Derbyshire South C 14.14
Whiteford, Eilidh Banff and Buchan SNP 10.47
Willott, Jenny Cardiff Central LD 12.66
Winterton, Rosie Doncaster Central Lab 14.92
Wollaston, Sarah Totnes C 10.30

Source: House of Commons Information Office

Related information

Votes for Women: The Virago Book of Suffragettes

Home | Parties | Regions | Maps | Historical | News | Links | Books | Sitemap